top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureindianacssantos

Day in China - Xiamen


This year I went to Asia for the first time in my life. I gave myself this trip as a b-day gift. I have been working a lot on the past years, and every single time I’m free to take a vacation I kind of feel pushed to go to Brazil, to visit my family and friends. Which is great and I love it. But because of that I would never really travel to places that I want to go by myself. Of course, I travel a lot for work, but I think everyone knows that is not the same, right?! Wow, I hope so.

Well, during my free vacay time I decided to go to Bali – Indonesia. But since the flights were expensive I had to decide a cool place to have a long layover and spend the day. So, I picked China!!!

As a crazy and young traveler, I love new places, culture and more than everything I love people. During a 9-hour layover, I decided to go around the city called Xiamen, and see as much as I could.

My first impression of the country was in the airport. I notice few Karaoke machines in the airport which I have never seen in my whole entire life. I loved it, but still it was quite different for me. Anyways, I left the airport and went to find a Buddhist Temple. I visited a beautiful one called: Nanputuo Temple. Located 30 min away from the airport. At the temple, Locals gave me flowers and incenses to offer to their Buda. It was a special moment, since I love all religions.



After that I googled the street market and I found one close by the temple. I took a ride with an amazing old guy, on his tuck-tuck = bike with seats. (I’m not really sure how to call it in English).

The ride was fun and when I go to the market I could see the china that we see in the movies.



At the marker I could see vendors everywhere. Selling many thing, including alive animals like fish and turtles. I felt a little weird about the turtles, but still it was a good experience. Unfortunately, I had to leave to catch my flight to Bali. But I would say that most of the locals that crossed my way that day, were special. They all treated me so good and shared with me so many things that has no value.



I hope if you ever get a chance to visit this country you go for it.

I’ll be back for sure next year to have a bigger experience than this one.

2 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page